Central Campus of Technology

Dharan-14, Hattisar

Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC)

Bachelor of Science in Microbiology

B.Sc. (Microbiology major) a 3- Year program was started in BS 2054 with minor botany and BS 2065 with minor Zoology. The duration of the degree program was changed from the previously 3 years to 4 year from the year 2069 BS (2012 A.D). The total intake capacity is 50 (25 seats for each combination of minor subjects). This undergraduate carries total of 2000 marks including project work/thesis.


Any candidates who have completed 10+ 2 or equivalent securing minimum 'C' grade in all subjects of Grade 11 and 12 are eligible for admission in Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) in Biology program of Tribhuvan University. 

Admission criteria

A student who seeks admission to B.Sc. program:


Master of Science in Microbiology

The M. Sc. Microbiology programme was started at Tribhuvan University in 1990 for the first time in Nepal at the Central Department of Microbiology, Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur.

Course Structure of M. Sc. Microbiology

The entire course is divided into four semesters within two academic years. The first semester course covers the disciplines of General/Advances in Microbiology, Immunology, Microbial Genetics, Microbial Biochemistry and Biotechnology and practical on these courses. The second semester offers track election among four  different disciplines of  microbiology for specialization. The four disciplines from second semester include Medical Microbiology, Public Health Microbiology, Food and Industrial Microbiology and Agriculture Microbiology with their practical courses. The fourth semester is completely research oriented that includes internship based on selected track and dissertation. In the second semester, students are required to choose one of the four different disciplines offered and continue with it through the third and fourth semesters. Students are not allowed to change the discipline once they have chosen it. The selection of discipline of  microbiology may depend upon the facilities available at the department. To gain exposure, students are encouraged to go for excursion after the second semester.

Quota & Fee Structure

    Program Duration Admission Scheme Quota Amount(Nrs)
M. Sc (Microbiology)

2 Years

( 4 Semesters)

Donation 30 1,72,000/-


Eligibility and Admission Procedures

Entrance exam for M.Sc. Microbiology is conducted by IOST, Dean office, TU generally after the results of B.Sc. Applicants must secure 50% Marks in B.Sc.  Microbiology from TU or TU recognized Universities.

Click here to download the syllabusSylabus MSc Microbiology


Faculty Members of Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC)
# Name Gender Designation Department Status Photo
1 Shivnandan Sah Male Assistant Professor Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC) Permanent
2 Hemanta Khanal Male Assistant Professor Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC) Permanent
3 Dr. Kamana Sahani Female Teaching Assistant / Coordinator Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC) Part-time
4 Dhiren Subba Limbu Male Teaching Assistant / HOD Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC) Part-time
5 Arjun Ghimire Male Teaching Assistant Department of Microbiology(BSC & MSC) Part-time